Texas Auto Insurance Laws

Texas law requires motorists to provide proof they can pay for any accidents they might cause. The state has set a minimum coverage that all drivers must obtain to legally drive on the roads in Texas.

Texas Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

Basic auto coverage in Texas is sometimes referred to as ’30/60/25′ coverage for short. What this represents is the minimum coverages the state requires for three different types of categories of coverage:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury coverage per person injured in an auto accident that you caused.
  • $60,000 for total bodily injury liability when two or more individuals are injured in an accident you caused
  • $25,000 in coverage for any property damage you cause

This minimum coverage will satisfy the state’s requirements and pays for any medical bills, property damage, and other covered costs of drivers, passengers, and individuals who are injured in an accident you cause up to the coverage limits specified above. Texas drivers can always up the coverage limits of their policy to provide more coverage for these categories. Driver’s are financially obligated to cover any expenses that supersede your their coverage limits.

Be sure to carry your insurance card while operating your vehicle as it is required by law. It’s best practice to leave a copy of your insurance card in your vehicles glove compartment. Failure to

Uninsured Motorists

The state of Texas does not require driver’s to carry uninsured motorists coverage in their auto policy, but does require insurance providers in Texas to offer this type of coverage. This type of coverage will protect you in the event you are in an accident that is caused by a driver who doesn’t have insurance coverage. In Texas, all uninsured motorists coverage is subject to a $250 deductible. You must pay this amount to before the insurance company will pick up the rest of the bill.

    Texas is an ‘ At Fault’ Accident State

    When it comes to liability for a car accident, Texas uses a ‘fault’ system. Essentially, this type of system forces drivers to pay for the accidents they cause. Meaning if you are injured in an accident the other parties insurance is going to be on the hook for paying out. In ‘no fault’ states, a driver’s insurance company is obligated to pay for any medical bills, lost income, and other expenses regardless of who caused the accident.

      Who’s Covered by Your Policy

      Most auto insurance policies cover you, your family and individuals driving your vehicle with your permission. Be sure to inquire with your agent to make sure you are covered before letting just anyone behind the wheel of your car! 

        get started with texas auto insurance

        Current customer of Andor Insurance Agency? Login to Your Account

        contact customer support andor insurance

        Get In Touch

        Send us a message or give us a call today to speak with someone about Andor Insurance Agency.


        Communication Opt-In

        andor logo footer small

        14050 Summit Drive #113B
        Austin, TX 78728

        Talk to an Agent - 737.302.6367
        Send us an Email:





        Small Business

        Referral Program